Tags

, , , ,

Yesterday was the 50th anniversary of the March on Washington. Yesterday, Presidents Obama, Clinton, and Carter spoke. Rev. Bernice King, Martin Luther King, Jr.’s daughter, spoke. Congressman John Lewis, the only living speaker from the 1963 March, spoke. I heard about an hour of the program on the radio and was both inspired and moved to tears.

 

Last night, Charles and I encouraged our cousin and her friend to go see the movie Fruitvale Station. I would respectfully challenge anyone who thinks that there is no longer any racism in America to see the movie. It is incredibly powerful true story of the murder of Oscar Grant by transit police. You get to know Oscar and see his struggle with employment and wanting to stop selling drugs, his love for his daughter, his desire to be committed and responsible to and for his girlfriend/daughter’s mother. You see his love and care for his sister and mom. You can find where you can see the movie by entering your zip code here.

If you missed the March on Washington coverage yesterday, I encourage you to read or listen to a few of the following.

50th Anniversary of March on Washington full coverage on Here and Now (radio program from WBUR Boston, but also video)

Today We Remember. Do We Still Dream? by Jennifer Aycock (a Wild Wisteria contributor) Really good prayer of praise, lament, and petition.

The Call to Let Freedom Ring! by Lisa Sharon Harper on the Sojourners blog. Excellent historical perspective on previous marches on Washington to reflection on racial and economic issues today. Well worth the read.

Why Were No Republicans Onstage… at the Christian Post. Not completely clear answers, apparently both Bushes were invited but couldn’t attend for health reasons. Other Republicans said not invited until too late. But sobering–very sobering political divides.

Colorizing the March on Washington: Fun, fascinating black-and-white photographs being colorized.

Not Just a ‘Black’ Thing: An Asian-American’s Bond with Malcolm X. Amazing story about a woman who had been interred in WWII because she was Japanese and how she became an advocate for African-Americans, the Civil Rights Movement, anti-war and other causes. She’s 92 now.

As I read and watched and listened to these moving stories, I wonder how am I working for justice and peace? How am I contributing to changing the world for good or benefiting from an unjust system? How does my faith drive me or am I content and unaware about the sufferings of others? I don’t have answers, but I hope and pray to not let my thoughts end in apathy and inaction. Lord, have mercy.

