Tags

, , , , , , ,

Angela Copleand at work/Photo by Angela

Angela Copleand at work/Photo by Angela

I am pleased to share visual art and poetry from a good friend who has inspired me in my own pursuit of art in the church. This guest post comes to us from a friend and self-taught artist, Angela Copeland, who works in the operating room by day and makes art in her free time. She is a mother of three grown daughters and four grandchildren, three of whom are old enough to make art with her.

Angela has helped coordinate a 2013 Stations of the Cross at Christ the Redeemer Anglican Church, in Norfolk, Virginia, and also helped plan another Lenten art event. She leads and assists children and adults in tactile and participatory art activities. Stations of the Cross, thanks to Angela, included artwork from preschool children, grade-school children, and community home groups.  

Blood

By Angela Copeland

I have seen so much blood

Blood in every form

Pooling, clotting unable to clot

Dried as a dot

On my cheek

I didn’t even feel the splash

I am often at there at the end

of someone else’s bad day

I have seen so much blood

By Angela Copleand

By Angela Copleand

I think of your Son

How much blood until it was done?

It has become a small talent for me

To look at the floor

And the suction canisters

At the clotting or inability to clot

And say to myself

This one will die

It is a small talent because I am mostly wrong

Sometimes right, mostly wrong

When blood dries on skin, or plastic or metal

sometimes

It curls and flakes

A breath can set it aloft

Blood does not always stay

By Angela Copeland

By Angela Copeland

The Lord has unclosing eyes

He does not turn from our horrors

He does not drift sleepily after hours

To better places where there is no pain

He remains close

Ear pressed

To the center of a dying man’s chest

This heart is mine

He has my blood

A prayer for the dying

Repent and Believe

By Angela Copeland

By Angela Copeland

